Institutions that have not joined or signified their intent to join the Scheme

All institutions where the sexual abuse of children occurred must be accountable for that abuse and should join the National Redress Scheme (the Scheme) without delay.

When the Scheme was established in July 2018, institutions named in the Royal Commission into Institutional Responses to Child Sexual Abuse (Royal Commission) and/or in an application to the Scheme were asked to join the Scheme by 30 June 2020.

Due to difficulties some institutions may have experienced as a result of the coronavirus pandemic, institutions were asked to provide a written statement outlining their intention to join but given an extension of time to complete the process by 31 December 2020.

A list of institutions that failed to meet this requirement is below. This list of institutions provides important transparency for people who have applied or are considering applying to the Scheme.

The following institutions were either named in the Royal Commission and/or in an application made to the Scheme:

  • Jehovah’s Witnesses
  • Kenja Communication
  • Fairbridge (Restored) Limited

This list does not include institutions that are defunct, meaning they no longer exist.

From 1 January 2021, when the Scheme receives an application that names an institution which had not been previously named, that institution will have a period of six months from their first engagement to join the Scheme. Failure to join the Scheme within six months means that such institutions may be publicly named, will have financial sanctions applied and may lose their charitable status until they join the Scheme.

This list will be updated frequently as the Scheme is continuously working with institutions that have been named in applications or identified by other means.

The list may not include all names used by an institution, for example, each school or home operated by an institution.

Publishing this list is done consistently with Scheme legislation.

National Redress Scheme Grant Connected Policy

As the institutions listed above did not join the Scheme within the required timeframe, they will no longer be eligible to access Australian Government grant funding. It is a priority of the Australian Government to ensure institutions named in applications to the Scheme or in the Royal Commission do the right thing and join the Scheme. To encourage institutions participation in the Scheme the Australian Government established a Grant Connected Policy to ensure that institutions that decide not to join the Scheme will not be eligible to access future Australian Government grant funding. This list will be updated on a regular basis to remain current and will be the reliable source of information for departments and agencies administering grant opportunities.

Further, institutions listed above may have their charitable status removed should they be eligible for Commonwealth Government tax concessions. Amendments to primary legislation to enable this were passed by the Parliament late in 2020 and will commence by April 2021.

Words used on this page

The application is available online or by paper. You can make an application at any time between now and 30 June 2027.
An institution means an organisation, such as a school, a church, parish, mission, a club, an orphanage or Children’s Home; or government department.
National Redress Scheme
The Australian Government set up the National Redress Scheme to provide redress to people who experienced institutional child sexual abuse. The offer of redress can include: access to counselling, a redress payment and a direct personal response.
Non-government institution
An institution or organisation that is not run by a government. May include, churches, charities, schools, and sporting clubs.
Redress means acknowledging harm done. The National Redress Scheme provides counselling, a direct personal response and a Redress payment.
The National Redress Scheme for people who experienced institutional child sexual abuse. See National Redress Scheme.